President's Slate

February 2020
Later this month, the AAUS Board of Directors will meet in Atlanta, graciously hosted by the Georgia Aquarium. As you may know, our Board consists of 11 members. Six of those members are elected and five are appointed by the President. This year, we are losing Director-at-Large Jim Hayward from the University of California system as he has completed his third year on the Board. We’re also losing appointed members Liz Kintzing from the University of New Hampshire, Narineh Nazarian from Boston University, Jonathan Langham from the Georgia Aquarium, and Mike Anghera from the UCLA (and SDSU!). Although we’ll miss them at the meetings, we don’t have to say goodbye as all are continuing in various roles associated with the accreditation process, business planning, and development of an e-learning resource for our Scientific Diving Instructors. My time with these professional colleagues has been inspiring and I’d like to say thank you on behalf of the entire Academy for your service.

This year is the first year we will have a Past President, Dr. Marc Slattery from the University of Mississippi, staying on as a Board member as we transition to a slightly different format for the four-year Presidents’ term. Chris Rigaud from the University of Maine will also stay on as the Treasurer, giving us expertise and continuity with our finances. Kevin Buch from Oregon State University and Ross Whippo from the University of Oregon continue their Director positions and this past June, our membership elected Scott Chapman from the Monterey Bay Aquarium as our next Director-at-Large. We’re excited for his first year on the Board! Jessica Keller from NOAA was also re-elected for a two-year term as Secretary. We are also gaining the leadership, experience, and insights of Jenna Walker from the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Nicole Grinnan from the University of West Florida, Lizzie McNamee from Florida Atlantic University, and Steve Clabuesch from the University of California at Santa Cruz. Please join me in welcoming everyone!

Derek Smith
University of Washington



Latest News

Lumcon Field Course 2020

Posted on 1/29/2020

Sherry Anne Reed

Posted on 1/28/2020

Northeast DSO Meeting 2020

Posted on 1/7/2020

2020 OM Renewals

Posted on 1/7/2020