AAUS Foundation Scholarship Awards 2020

The AAUS Foundation offers competitive research scholarships to both doctoral-level students and master’s-level students who utilize scientific diving as a principal research tool or study scientific diving.

First place awards for both program levels are $3000; second place awards are $1500. A total of 45 proposals were reviewed. Proposals included research in ecosystems from kelp forests to coral reefs and spanned disciplines from genetics to archaeological resource management. Special thanks to the 15 reviewers, and best wishes to all who participated. If you know of a student who could benefit from an AAUS graduate scholarship, direct them to the Foundation website for more details. Next year's round of proposals will be due on June 30, 2021.  https://aausfoundation.org/

Doctoral-level Awards

1st place Kira Turnham, Penn State University

Examining thermal tolerance in Palauan coral reefs

2nd place Bobbi Renfro, Florida State University

The effects of anthropogenic nutrient enrichment on coral reef sponges

Honorable Mention

Ethan Cissell, Florida State University


Master-level Awards

1st place William Nassif, East Carolina University

Documenting World War II-era submerged archaeological sites in the lagoon at Kwajalein Atoll (Republic of the Marshall Islands)

2nd place Nika Blank, Florida State University

Investigating latitudinal changes in hardbottom communities of the West Florida Shelf

Honorable Mention

Bryant Grady, Arizona State University


Find out more about the AAUS Foundation Scholars at www.aausfoundation.org

Latest News